College of Education Sitemap
Skip to Main Content

Education Policy Fellowship Program

Michigan Teacher of the Year Program

In 1999 the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) began sponsoring the Michigan Teacher of the Year in the Michigan EPFP as part of the annual teacher-in-residence experience. This MDE & EPFP partnership has proven to be a very positive addition for both the Michigan Teacher of the Year Program and the EPFP.

Michigan Teacher of the Year Participants:

1999-2000 Ms. Margaret Holtschlag, Haslett Public Schools
2000-2001 Ms. Joan Garretson, Walled Lake Consolidated Schools
2001-2002 Mr. James Linsell, Traverse City Area Public Schools
2002-2003 Ms. Susan Gutierrez, Forest Hill Public Schools
2003-2004 Mr. William Cecil, Waverly Public Schools
2004-2005 Ms. Heidi Capraro, Northville Public Schools
2005-2006 Mr. Daniel Schab, Williamston Community Schools
2006-2007 Ms. Kimberly Kyff, Detroit Public Schools